queenriley: (Default)
[personal profile] queenriley
Okay. Short rant today, with a bit of an update on my life in general.

Thank you to everyone for the kind words. It made me feel a lot better. Even though the situation isn't great, it's good to know I have people behind me, people willing to help me through this. I really appreciate that. Words cannot express how much your messages and encouragements mean to me.

Jeff has a place to stay now. He's going to be crashing with his best friend (who is dating my best friend... very strange) for only $100 a month and free tech support any time the occupants of said residence need computer help. :) I'm glad. He won't be far away, he's with people I know, people I trust to make him get his crap together and not just wallow in lonely depression. I have Alex to keep me from doing that. Jeff also has his A+ certification now. He passed the test in record time with only 1 question answered incorrectly. I'm proud of him.

Irritating business... mostly to get it out of the way:

We are invited to his sister's wedding, and we are going. His mother invited us. This sounds like a good thing, but at the gathering on Mother's Day, I was very point blank and rudely told that Jeff and I were not invited. So now we are... okay. Whatever. I'll go, because she's my sister-in-law and it's the right thing to do, plus the man she is marrying is a nice guy. But I'm still confussed and it's still irritating. Also, she invited my parents! Jeff's sister has met my parents once in the whole 3 years I've known Jeff's family. She spent an hour here at my baby shower, and didn't say one word to my mother. She sat on her cellphone through the whole shower. She's never even met my dad. But okay. She's welcome to invite them, but they aren't going. She's just looking for more presents is all.

Jeff's mother is at the hospital right now. My future brother-in-law is having a very minor surgery to remove a small cyst underneath his chin. Jeff's parents spent all afternoon at the hospital with my future brother-in-law. I'm glad he has the support of his future in-laws, however I'm not allowed to say a single word of remote annoyance or anger to Jeff. Why would I say such a thing, you ask? Because when I was in the hospital after Alex was born with an infected c-section incision and an aneurysm (blood clot) somewhere behind the incision, they couldn't be bothered to visit me. I'm lucky I didn't need an historectomy and I was in the hospital for 4 days on hourly doses of heavy duty IV antibiotics. But could they be bothered with stopping in, even for just a few minutes, to say hello? Of course not! They never even called to see how I was. They'd call Jeff to ask about the baby and then, in passing, ask about me and change topics without letting Jeff explain how I really was other than "Well, she's doing better but". My last full day in his mother called and said "Jeff's father is having out-patient surgery tomorrow to blow a clogged vein in his leg. I'll have nobody with me, so while he's in surgery I'll have some time to kill. I guess I could stop by and see you for awhile." and that was it. Of course, she never did come by and then I was released, but still. That really irks me. They couldn't bother to come see me, who has supposedly been in the family for awhile, when I was really sick and in the hospital, but they can go spend the whole surgery with my future brother-in-law when it's just a minor thing. I feel bad that he has to have it done, don't get me wrong. I was worried until the biopsy came back showing that it wasn't cancer and was merely a minor cyst. Still... it's irksome, and Jeff doesn't want me to say anything to him about it because "We're just starting to get along again. Don't get mad at them for some stupid reason." Well it's not stupid to me.

Okay, I feel better now. I just had to get that off my chest. Enough ranting. I'm trying to find good things in every single day. So here's my list of good stuff.

-Today is my best friend's birthday. She's 21 today. She's going out to a lovely dinner with her family, boyfriend, and some of her friends. She'll be ordering her first alcoholic drink. I'm very happy for her.

-Jeff passed his exam with flying colours and that's great. Now that he's certified, he's more likely to get a job.

-I finally had a good story idea that I may actually be able to sit down and right. It's going to be a present for my friend, to be given to her on Saturday. :)

-Great news on my dad's car. It's not totaled! They just replaced a few spark plugs and will be replacing all the filters, but it works just fine now! None of the electrical systems were damaged by the water. Insurance will pay anything over $500 which is good because the repairs are estimated at somewhere around $1200. Yay! Daddy gets his car back, Mom gets her car back, and I get my car back!

-I burned a cd all on my very own today. No help from Jeff. I figured it out on my own and the cd came out perfect on the very first try. Go me!

WOOO! GO QUEENIE!

Date: 2002-07-24 01:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wench2002.livejournal.com
Nice one on burning the CD- I am not kidding, took me hours to figure it out, even *with* my Dad's help.
Say congrats to Jeff for me on the exam, he really deserves it.
By the sounds of the other stuff, and how you feel you are moaning (which you *are NOT!*)- whats your LJ for? But just remember we're all here to help. :o)

(no subject)

Date: 2002-07-30 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Family issues like that are extremely uncomfortable. I'm sorry. But hey, that's great about Jeff's test and the car and the story idea and shtuff. That's also a great song :D

~Leigh

(no subject)

Date: 2002-08-09 12:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] soupytwist.livejournal.com
Congratulations to Jeff, that's great! And I'm glad Jeff's got a stable place to stay, that way you're more likely to get everything sorted out quickly. And it must be nice to know he's not *that* far away, even though the fact he's got to move out sucks.

I can only imagine how annoyed I'd be if I had a family situation like that (gah, inlaws), so don't feel you're just whinging unecessarily. They're the ones who are acting badly here, and you're more than allowed to have a bit of a rant about it.

Profile

queenriley: (Default)
queenriley

January 2025

S M T W T F S
    1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags