queenriley: (Default)
[personal profile] queenriley
Well, it's now the 13th and my daughter had her first birthday on the 8th, so I figured I would update now (that I finally have time to sit and breathe) about how the party went. Jeff's parents were there and acted very nice and polite and civil. His mother does not like his grandmother at all, but I adore his grandmother, and Alex adores her as well, so Meme was invited whether Jeff's mother liked it or not. Jeff's mom did not speak at all to Meme but at least she didn't say anything mean or cruel. She simply pretended that Meme wasn't there, which was fine as it didn't cause any bad feelings or arguments. My friend and her baby (about 4 months older than Alex) came from across town which was nice, as Alex and her daughter get along swimmingly. They play together as much as one year old babies can. B was there, and B's ex-boyfriend T came too. He and I have stayed close since their break-up. He lives in Austin so it was great that he came down. Those were all the guests, as my gay buddy G was out of town and my sister lives in Virginia. Alex wasn't very interested in opening her presents, but I think she was afraid she'd get in trouble for tearing the paper since she gets told no every time she tries to play with paper. :) She had lots of fun with the toys and things once we got them unwrapped and out of the box, though. She got all kinds of neat stuff. She got clothes, lots of fun toys, and books. She got about 6 books, and she loves them. I've read Guess How Much I Love You so many times I can recite it already and she's only had it 6 days! Want to hear it? I'll read it to you. :)

I always knew my daughter would love books. Both Jeff and I love to read, and when I was pregnant I used to joke that I'd give birth to an irrate baby first (irrate for being interupted in the middle of a good story) and the book she was in the middle of reading second. I was darn near right too. :)

Anyway, we moved on to cake and ice cream. As soon as I can figure out how to do it, I'm going to put up a picture of her birthday cake. It was so cute! She loves rubber duckies, so my mom ordered a cake from the store she works at to be decorated as a beach and she put a rubber duckie in the water! It was beyond cute and we were all admiring it so much we didn't want to eat it (but we did anyway... it was cake... and it was good). Alex had her very own cake which we cut a slice from for her to make a royal mess of. Which she didn't do. :) I should have known she'd be like this. She's not one for being too messy when it comes to her food. She got the icing all over her hands and when it got on her face she tried to rub it off and then became upset when more icing got on her face. When she did finally eat some of it, she liked the icing alright, but she didn't like the cake part. She loved the ice cream we gave her with it.

Only one thing happened to make me upset on her birthday, but it's not anything bad or super wrong, just an annoying thing. We haven't been on the best terms with Jeff's parents and it's been only in the past two months or so that we even started talking to them again. We went over on Mother's Day and that was the first either of them had seen Alex since just before Christmas. Anyway, it's just easier to pretend the arguments never happened and they didn't do anything wrong (though we are still being held accountable, or I should say I am). Ever since I stood up for Jeff in those arguments, his parents haven't liked me. They think I'm a bad person and they won't call me by name. When speaking to me, they are polite, but when speaking about me, I'm simply refered to as "that girl" or "Alexis' mother" (because they won't call her Alex... it's a boys name and it's wrong of me to call their granddaughter a boys name) which is at least better than what they had been calling me. I won't repeat it here as there are probably people reading this that are too young to hear those words. Anyway, for Alex's birthday, Jeff's mother went and bought two outfits. One was a dress with cherries on the bottom which is actually fairly cute. The other, the one she said she really loved and I had to put 'Alexis' in it often, is an overall/onesie set. That isn't bad in itself, and the overalls are really cute... simple denim with small flowers in one corner. But the onesie is hot pink. And the sandals she got to go with it are also very very pink. I hate the colour pink. I have never liked it and have very very rarely put Alex in the colour pink for the simple fact that I don't like it. When Alex does wear pink, it's a soft pink that is not the main colour of the outfit, but simply a highlight colour. Anyway, she got her the pink stuff on purpose because she knows I hate pink. But I was good. When opening it, I only said how cute the outfit was and how nice the sandals were. Luckily, the sandals are too big so I have to go exchange them... and I can say the store was out of the pink sandals in Alex's size and get something else instead. Oh, and they were upset because Alex didn't want them holding her. She's okay if they are the only other people there (besides me and Jeff as I won't leave her alone with them, long story to be saved for another time, email me if you want to know) but there were lots of other people there Saturday. Every time Jeff's mom or dad picked her up, she'd wiggle out of their arms and head straight for her Auntie B (as we call my friend B). They didn't like that, but they didn't say anything about it, so that's okay. That was really the only problem. I'll put Alex in the pink onesie she got when we go over on Father's Day and then the onesie is never going to be put on her again. And she'll let them hold her for a bit on Father's Day.

Oh, and the best present Alex got was a swing! Jeff hung it on the back porch on Monday (using really really big bolts into the studs of the ceiling... it's very safe) and Alex adores it! We have to go swing at least once a day or she gets very upset. It's great. The back porch is screaned in so I don't have to worry about bugs getting at her and there is a fan so it's not super hot out there (yet). Ah. I hope all her birthdays are this nice. :) Even if it was a lot of work preparing for it, and cleaning up after, I don't mind since she had such a wonderful time.

Well... the only other update is Jeff quit CP of his own free will and is now actively job hunting for a real job that will pay him. He and I are getting along much better now that he's not at CP. He's starting to be nice again, and I'm not riding his back so often about money.

Life is actually fairly good for a change. :)

:)

Date: 2002-06-13 11:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aishne.livejournal.com
I'm really glad you had a great time...and that your happier too:) You deserve it!

Profile

queenriley: (Default)
queenriley

January 2025

S M T W T F S
    1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags